Interestingly enough some students and I were talking about Cuba the other night, and today I just so happened to come across this article in the globe and mail. It is only a small article, but after working in agriculture and beginning my studies I've become very interested in agriculture from an international view point. Anyways, that article was talking about how Cuban farmers are finally being allowed after decades "to sell their crops directly to hotels and other tourist enterprises" (article by AFP, Globe & Mail). Hopefully this will help Cuba's economy. I don't know a lot about Cuba, other then a bit of their history, that it is a communist country and that they are not allowed into the US as the Americans are not allowed in Cuba. Therefore I am hoping to do a little more research into the countries agriculture system and policies. 



Leave a Reply.