Work day number 17 in a row now.... however, I am feeling pretty good. It's a bit different when you are not on your own. The cattle work is all over now until second round which I will not be here for. It took us about a month. The crew left today so it is now just John, Helen, Judith (Helen's mum), the French student and I. Pretty quiet... to quiet both Frenchy and I are missing everyone. We all got along so well, like a family in so many ways-- especially when you spend almost 24/7 with each other. I only have 3 days left here though and than I am heading into town on Monday to catch a bus to Darwin with and than flying to Bali for a week on Tuesday... pretty excited about that-- a lil' treat for my hard working summer which consisted of a lot of alone time and isolation from the outside world. It was nice though, I wouldn't change a thing. After Bali I fly to Perth for a week to visit Madi and than I arrive home on the 30th!!
It was different having the crew here, I didn't get to spend as much time with the cattle as I would have liked too... but, it was great when I did. I love the hard work, always on your toes. Being out here you get such a different perspective on things: like food production and the amount of work that goes into it and just how the world works. I am really glad I chose to come here this summer, its been an amazing 13 weeks in so many ways. As much as I enjoyed being out here on my own though in the beginning... my summer really kicked off when I met all these amazing people-- so if you guys read this: Thank you so much for being a part of this experience here at Gilnockie 2012. You will never be forgotten, each of you will hold a place in my heart always. 
Anyway's, now that the cattle work is all over we are just putting out another huge lick run, checking and fixing some fences and going to do a bit more painting... I also need to pack and organize all the things I need to get done for Uni-- so much work to be done! Hahahaha. All good though. 
Well till next time. -Nikki 
 





Leave a Reply.