I am going to try very hard to post on my blog everyday... hopefully I will be able to keep up.

Today I want to share with you about something I read for a class. We are having to read this book in Ancient history (note the name of it and author in the title of this blog) and we are also reading the entire Old Testament. Anyways, I just finished reading the first chapter of this book and on the first page a few sentences down I came across one in particular which stood out for me. Anyone who is reading the old testament or who is attempting too... I think this could help. The author Sandra L. Richter explains: "We take our first step across the great barrier by addressing what I believe is the most profound distinction between "us" and "them": culture.

In this book she is referring to understanding the culture in the Old Testament. I think this is a very helpful way of looking at the Bible, especially the Old Testament. But I also feel that we can apply this to society today as well. We often associate differences (not always positive) among different ethnics, religions, groups, and so on as: "us" and "them."

Humm... I will have to continue the thought process on this, unfortunately my brain feels like it is going into overtime.

I would love to hear any thoughts or comments.
9/17/2011 10:41:09 am

I'm reading Brian McLaren's book, A New Kind of Christianity, and one of the points that he makes that has been helpful for me is that some people (many!) read the bible as if it were a constitution - a rule book. Not just a set of do's and don'ts, but a whole complex template for living a pure and holy life.

An alternative is to read it as narrative - a story told to and through culture. From this perspective, the value of reading and studying Scripture is to appreciate principles across cultures and generations. For me this is really helpful. And since I don't have the book before me now, that's actually a rough recollection of what he says!

Reply



Leave a Reply.